makeup · Review

Review | Mary Kay Glossy Lip Oil and Sunlight Eye Color Palette

First off, let’s just get the elephant out of the room: yes, I sell Mary Kay. I sell it because I love it. I sell it because when I first tried Mary Kay, I knew it was good stuff. When I first tried Mary Kay, I felt a difference in my skin, and as someone who has had pretty terrible skin her entire life, how a cleanser makes my skin feel is something I pay attention to. I believe Mary Kay is one of the best kept secrets in the world, in regards to the products and the opportunity this company offers. This company has been changing lives for 54 years, by making women feel more beautiful and more confident in more ways than what their skin looks like. To suggest that I’m just trying to make money off of someone or that I’m not honest in what I say about the products because I make a commission is insulting. You can always count on me to be honest and forthcoming when sharing opinions and reviews on all products.

On a related note, please remember that everyone has different skin and personal preferences. What works for me won’t always work best for you. I have a very expansive wealth of knowledge when it comes to makeup and will try my best to notate if I think a product is best suited for oily or dry skin, the finish of a lipstick, etc. But when in doubt, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me, explain your concern, and I will give recommendations that way, both Mary Kay and non.

Whew, that was much longer than I wanted it to be but I’m glad it’s out of the way!

Now, let’s get into the fun stuff!

First off, the packaging is gorgeous! I know it just gets recycled, but you can’t say pretty packaging has never sucked you in! #guilty. These items are part of the Limited Edition Spring 2017 line titled, Light, Reinvented. 

Let’s tackle the lip oil first. It comes in three different pink shades and costs $16. You get .3 ounces of product. I purchased the shade Magenta Ray.

Because I’m being 100% honest, I was disappointed in the shade range because I don’t wear pink that often. It’s just not a color I feel best in. I wish there were more shades!
Another thing I’m slightly turned off by is the applicator. It’s a weird sponge tip. When you squeeze the tube product comes up through the sponge. I don’t like it because it’s messy and eventually any excess product gets all over the tip. I’m not too broken up about it though, because the cap keeps the mess contained.

Other than that, I love this product! I even love the color – weird, right?! Because the formula is sheer, it gives a healthy pink tone to my lips. This product is formulated with grapeseed oil, which makes it so moisturizing. The oil just sinks into my lips, plumping them up and moisturizing them, and leaves a beautiful wash of pink. Another pro to the product being on the sheer side is that it’s easy to apply. While glosses generally aren’t long wearing products, this lasts a decent amount of time on my lips. It obviously does not last through eating or anything of the sort.

I especially love this lip oil when I wear it over lipsticks! It gives off a delicious and juicy shine. It feels great on top of my more drying lipsticks. 

Swatches of all three shades.

Now, the eyeshadow palettes probably scare the pants off some of you. And some of you may be wondering what the fudge Mary Kay was thinking releasing such bold palettes. But, if you follow makeup trends like I do, then you know that pastels are IN. Many brands have released similar products and it is taking the industry by storm.

I purchased the Sunlight version. The other eye color palette is blue toned. Both cost $24.

Swatches are over eye primer

Each palette has two matte and two shimmer shades. In the Sunlight palette, the light pinky shade and orange shade are shimmery. In my opinion, the pink shade is the star. Pink shades are so hard to formulate and this one is so creamy and pigmented! The orange shade is gorgeous on the lid, as is the light shimmery one. The very light lavender has me scratching my head a bit – it’s pretty, but startlingly light. And the lavender gets lost and it mainly ends up looking white.

As per Mary Kay usual, these eye shadows are soft, buttery, and blend so well. They practically do the work for you!

A con to these palettes is I don’t think they’re very versatile. I have lots of experience and I liked experimenting with color, but I found myself stumped on what to create without going too outside the box. I think this palette is best suited for someone who has other neutral eye shadows and using this one for pops of color. 

Here are some looks I did using both the palette and the lip oil. 

Using the lip oil over the MK semi matte lipstick in Bashful You
Using the lip oil over a Wet N Wild pink lipstick

All in all, I think these products are a gorgeous addition to any makeup collection! 

Leave a Reply

