makeup · Mary Kay · Tutorial

Unicorn 🦄 Inspired Makeup Look

Image result for unicorn drinkUnless you live under a rock, you have undoubtedly heard about the famous Unicorn Drink from Starbucks. And the amazing thing about being an artist is that you can take inspiration from anything. One of my Mary Kay sisters did just that! You see, we offer completely customize-able eye shadow palettes…*pause for dramatic effect*… I know, right?! SO AMAZING. Anyways, one of my fellow consultants was so inspired by the Unicorn Frapp that she customized her own eye shadow palette.

Image may contain: makeup
Top: Sweet Plum, Iris, Ballerina Pink. Bottom: Peacock Blue, Azure, Crystalline.

I love that this palette is so bold and fun! I wouldn’t call this my everyday, go-to palette; however, it’s great for adding somethin’, somethin’ to your looks. Dreary Mondays can instantly be perked up with fun makeup like this – that’s certainly what I did this morning! Mornings are so much easier to handle when makeup is waiting to be played with!

IMG_20170424_082142_575
Purples eyes edited in for effect

IMG_20170424_082142_585

First off, let’s get the boring stuff out of the way! For primer I used the NYX Pore Filler. On my face I used the Mary Kay TimeWise Matte Foundation and the Mary Kay Perfecting Concealer under my eyes. I used the Mary Kay Translucent Powder to set under my eyes and my face. For my bronzer I used the Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer. For my contour I used the Tarte Tarteist Pro Glow Palette. My blush is the Mary Kay Ripe Watermelon Duo. And for highlight I used the Watermelon Duo and the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Pearl to really amp it up. And lastly for the face products, I used my trusty ELF Cream Eyeliner in Coffee for my brows and set them with the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper (I’m actually using the clear brow gel in these pictures but I like the one I linked – the tinted version – SO MUCH MORE!). To be honest, other than the shade of blush or highlight, this is pretty much what is always on my face.

Displaying 20170424_074741-02.jpeg

Now for the fun stuff! Firstly, I began by applying my Mary Kay Eye Primer and setting it with the eyeshadow in Sweet Cream. Then I began by blending the matte light pink shade in my crease. I decided that wasn’t dark enough and also used my blush. Don’t be afraid to use products in other ways! Using your bronzer as an eyeshadow is another great hack when you want to save time.

Then I blended a bit of Iris in the crease to add dimension. I also brought that down on my outer V. Then I used the Mary Kay Cream Eye Color in Beach Blonde on my lid. I love putting down cream eyeshadows as a base – they really help shimmery shadows to POP more! I patted Crystalline over the cream base and this really helped open up my eyes.

I smudged some NYX Jumbo Pencil in Electric Blue along my lower lashes. Again, using a cream shadow as a base. Using a small pencil brush, I smudged Azure over the top. I felt like this look needed some eyeliner, but I thought black would ground the look too much, so I went with a purple eyeliner from NYX. I then applied Crystalline in my inner corner using my pinky finger. Inner corner highlights are my favorite! To make the blue on my lower lash line stand out even more I lined my lower water line with the NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk – this is one of my all time, most used products ever!

I completed the eyes with a coat each of Mary Kay Lash Love Mascara and Lash Intensity Mascara. I wanted to keep the lower lash line more organic and skipped the mascara.

To complete the look I applied the Mary Kay Semi Matte Lipstick in Bashful You to my lips and topped that with my current favorite Magenta Ray Lip Oil.

I know it sounds like a lot of products and work, but that’s because it is! This is not your typical makeup look – it’s fun and creative!

Would you ever do your makeup like a unicorn?

What other fun things have inspired you?

Leave a comment below and let me know!

Attach17844_20161113_124130

 

Leave a Reply

